username: pass:

Untitled Document

MW Announces Women's Golf All-Conference Team


Christine Wong
April 22, 2012
MW Conference

LITCHFIELD PARK, Ariz. - The Mountain West announced its 2011-12 Women's Golf All-Conference team awards at the conclusion of its championship today at the Wigwam Resort in Litchfield Park, Ariz.
San Diego State's Christine Wong became the first Aztec to be named Mountain West Golfer of the Year. The junior entered the championship ranked 62nd in the most recent GolfWeek/Sagarin rankings and No. 79 by GolfStat. She currently leads the Conference in scoring average at 73.96 strokes per round. The native of Richmond, B.C., has recorded two individual victories this season and three top five finishes overall. She has been named MW Golfer of the Month once this season and three times in her career.
Wong is joined on the All-Mountain West team by UNLV's Dana Finkelstein and Mayko Chwen Wang, the 2011-12 MW Co-Freshmen of the Year, as well as TCU's Sanna Nuutinen, the 2012 MW Tournament champion. Nuutinen, Colorado State's Brianna Espinoza and San Diego State's Malin Enarsson were named to the all-league squad for the second time in their careers, while TCU's Brooke Beeler became a three-time All-Conference honoree. New Mexico's Sammi Stevens and TCU's April McCoy were each recognized for the first time in their respective careers.
In addition to its All-Conference Team, the Mountain West also announced that TCU head coach Angie Larkin was named the 2011-12 Coach of the Year. Larkin, who receives the honor for the third consecutive year, led the Horned Frogs to two team titles this season, including this week's Conference Championship.
2011-12 Women's Golf All-Mountain West Conference Team
Brianna Espinoza, Sr., Colorado State
Sammi Stevens, So., New Mexico
Malin Enarsson, Sr., San Diego State
Christine Wong, Jr., San Diego State
Brooke Beeler, Sr., TCU
April McCoy, Fr., TCU
Sanna Nuutinen, So., TCU
Dana Finkelstein, Fr., UNLV
Mayko Chwen Wang, Fr., UNLV
2011-12 Mountain West Women's Golfer of the Year
Christine Wong, Jr., San Diego State
2011-12 Mountain West Women's Golf Co-Freshmen of the Year
Dana Finkelstein, UNLV
Mayko Chwen Wang, UNLV
2011-12 Mountain West Women's Golf Coach of the Year
Angie Larkin, TCU
7:00 pm It's a Numbers Game
Sports Statistics Show
7:15 pm 5 in 15
Weekly whip around the Mtn West Sports Net.
7:30 pm Around the Mountain presented by Jeep
Roundtable Discussion of MW Athletics
8:00 pm Mountain West Women's Golf Championship Review
8:30 pm Mountain West Rivalries
9:00 pm Rivalries: Colorado State vs Wyoming
Key in your zip code and find out which service providers in your area carry The Mtn.
The Mtn. is available nationwide on DIRECTV channel 616. Check with DIRECTV to find out if your programming package includes The Mtn.
Submit your questions to The Mtn.'s expert analysts and have them answered on-air at halftime or during Post Game Live.  CLICK HERE